top of page

A Beginners Guide to Healing Your Chakras

Updated: Apr 22, 2022

The human body contains seven major energy centers known as chakras which are located along the center of the body. In Sanskrit, chakra means "wheel". Each chakra acts as a disk or generator of energy that typically spins in a clockwise direction.

Each chakra has its own function and area of focus in our life. When all of the chakras are open and balanced, our mind-body-spirit is also balanced and harmonious. However, if even one chakra becomes blocked or overactive, we may experience physical symptoms, mental or emotional imbalances or spiritual dilemmas.

The 7 Major Body Chakras

It is believed that each of the chakras correlates to each of the seven main layers of the auric field. However, many believe that the human aura has now evolved and expanded to contain twelve (sometimes more) layers.

Many have come to understand that humans actually have five additional auric layers that correspond with each of the five transpersonal chakras. Although my experience has shown me that not everyone has all five of their transpersonal chakras activated and opened. I believe that activating the other five chakras is a matter of Divine will and timing and also is associated with each individual's level of consciousness and spiritual growth.

In addition to these twelve chakras, we have over a hundred minor chakras located within every organ, joint and accupoint throughout the body. For beginners, I recommend learning the 7 main personal body chakras first, as they are our foundation for understanding how the human energy field works. So, let's take a look at the seven major chakras as our starting point:

Root Chakra: The first chakra is located right at the bottom of your pelvis and in the center of your perennial area. It is often associated with the color red and helps to govern our physical reality, safety, security, ability to ground, sexuality and survival instincts.

Sacral Chakra: Sitting just a few inches below the belly button, the sacral chakra influences our emotions and creativity. It's identified with the color orange and affects our views on intimacy, boundaries and trust.

Solar Plexus Chakra: The third chakra is situated in the upper belly at the diaphragm. Its color is yellow and guides our will as well as our mental layers. It is also responsible for our energy, personal power and issues related with the Ego.

Heart Chakra: It should be no surprise that the heart chakra is located right in the middle of your chest. This chakra helps us to experience unconditional love, guides our relationships and influences our ability to demonstrate compassion and hope. Green is the color of the heart chakra.

The first three chakras govern much of our physical body and Earthly reality, while the last three chakras connect us to God, our Higher Self and Spiritual aspects. The heart chakra acts as the bridge that connects us to both the physical and spiritual dimensions, making it possible to exist in both planes at the same time. It is our heart that reminds us that we are both Spiritual beings and human beings.

Throat Chakra: The fourth chakra exists in your throat and is associated with the color blue. The throat chakra assists in our ability to speak our Truth. It also governs our ability to be a good communicator, which includes listening and understanding others.

Third Eye Chakra: Existing behind the middle of the forehead and near the pineal gland, our third eye influences our intuition and spiritual insight. It's identified with the color indigo and opens us up to a greater awareness, psychic senses and spiritual gifts.

Crown Chakra: The seventh and final chakra is located right at the top of the head. Personally, I see its color to be more like white or iridescent, although many texts will use purple to describe it. This is the chakra that connects us to higher intelligences such as God, our Angels and our Spirit Guides. This chakra also assists in our ability to raise our consciousness and our enlightenment.

Balancing Your Chakras

When each of the chakras are balanced and healthy, it means that they're all spinning in the same direction and are all approximately the same size. They should appear bright and vibrant and be able to move freely without obstruction. Chakras that are out of balance can become either blocked or overractive.

A blocked chakra usually looks like a chakra that is either not spinning or is spinning slower than the others. It can often appear to be filled with dense or heavy energies. It can also appear smaller than normal or even look like it's spinning backwards in the opposite direction.

An overactive chakra on the other hand usually appears to be spinning too quickly, as if it is spinning out of control. It can also appear to be bigger than normal and will often begin to dominate the energy of the other chakras that are next to it if it isn't balanced. An overactive chakra can also change shape and become more oval or oblong rather than a perfect circle.

I love using this simple chart that explains what blocked, balanced and overactive chakras can look like in a person's life. Download and print your free copy.

Using A Pendulum To Check Your Chakras

By having a little bit of knowledge about each chakra, most people are able to identify which of their chakras might be out of balance and in need of healing. But, if you're still unsure, you can use a pendulum to check your own chakras.